ISU On-Farm Cooperator Trials: Relationships and Partnerships-2016

RFR-A1656

Josh Sievers, Northwest Farm, former superintendent Lyle Rossiter, Allee Farm, superintendent Joel DeJong, extension field specialist Chris Beedle, Western Farm, superintendent Karl Nicolaus, Northern Farm, ag specialist Tyler Mitchell, Northeast Farm, ag specialist Lance Miller, Southeast Farm, former ag specialist Cody Schneider, Southeast Farm, ag specialist Jim Rogers, Armstrong Farm, ag specialist Zack Koopman, Ag Engineering/Agronomy Farm, ag specialist

Iowa State University (ISU) has a longstanding relationship with Iowa corn and soybean farmers. As a part of this relationship, ISU works to provide quality, unbiased information to assist the decision-making

process on farm operations. In 2006, ISU began to expand this commitment with the assistance of northwest Iowa farmers by conducting more trials in their fields. The ISU on-farm cooperator trial program has grown to cover other areas across Iowa. The program links the resources of the ISU research farms, the technical expertise of the ISU field agronomists, the support of the local research farm associations, and volunteer farmercooperators to create a system of on-farm trials for Iowa.

In 2016, 62 farmer-cooperators in 24 counties assisted in conducting 120 on-farm trials. In addition, ISU has long-term partnerships that support agricultural research locations (research farms) across Iowa. The following groups have endorsed and supported the ISU on-farm trial program.

Committee for Agricultural Development, Ames, IA North Central Iowa Research Association, Kanawha, IA Northeast Iowa Agricultural Experimental Association, Nashua, IA Northwest Iowa Experimental Association, Sutherland, IA Southeast Iowa Agricultural Research Association, Crawfordsville, IA Wallace Foundation for Rural Research and Development, Lewis, IA Western Iowa Experimental Farm Association, Castana, IA

Sponsors for 2016 On-Farm Cooperator Trials

The ISU On-Farm Cooperator Trials program was made possible in part by support and donations of products or funding from these sponsors/donors. We recognize the following entities for their support of the ISU On-Farm Cooperator Trials program.

Sponsor

AgriGold (Schylor Altenhofen)

AgriGold (Terry Mente)

Agriland FS, Inc.

American State Bank (Troy Broers)

Bayer (Terry Holm) Becks Hybrids **Bob Zimmerman**

Bridges Seed & Chemical (Thad Bridges)

Calcium Products, Inc. (Andrew Hoiberg)

ChemGro, Inc. DuPont (Ron Geis)

Farm Bureau (Mark Bohner) Farm Bureau (Mark Bohner)

Farm Credit Services (Dave Popkes)

Farm Service Cooperative Iowa Soybean Association Monsanto BioAg (Nick Muller) Pioneer Hi Bred (Michael Huston) Wieringa Seeds (Harry Wieringa)

Witthoft Farm Supply

Wyffels Hybrids (Mike Lage) Wyffels Hybrids (Bill Backhaus) Location

Columbus Junction, IA

Tipton, IA Wyman, IA Sioux Center, IA Brandon, SD Marshalltown, IA

Lewis, IA Elliott, IA Ames, IA

Mt. Pleasant, IA Newcastle, NE Lyon County, IA Sioux County, IA Sheldon, IA Moorhead, IA Ankeny, IA Atlantic, IA Wellman, IA Sioux Center, IA

Blencoe, IA Griswold, IA

Ainsworth, IA

2016 On-Farm Trial Cooperators

The following farmer cooperators conducted on-farm trials in their fields during 2016.

Steve Abma	Rock Valley, IA	Tom Miller	Mt. Pleasant, IA
Wade Amos	Griswold, IA	Jerry Mitchell	Charles City, IA
Cliff Aupperle	Wiota, IA	Rodney Mogler	Alvord, IA
Don Bahe	Stanley, IA	Ross Mogler	Alvord, IA
Becker Farms	Cumberland, IA	Mark Mueller	Waverly, IA
Mark Benson	Mt. Pleasant, IA	Nicolaus Farms	Whittemore, IA
Dave Birney	Washington, IA	Mike Noll	Griswold, IA
Joel Bubke	Ute, IA	Bruce Potter	Griswold, IA
Dan Caffrey	Cresco, IA	Max Potter	Greenfield, IA
Mike Casey	Griswold, IA	Ben Reinig	Portsmouth, IA
Kenny Cousins	Greenfield, IA	Tom Reinig	Portsmouth, IA
Wes DeGroot	Doon, IA	Brad Ritter	Charles City, IA
Tim Denney	Atlantic, IA	Rich Rosener	Vail, IA
Dordt College	Sioux Center, IA	Dave Rossman	Hartley, IA
Scott Drake	Lewis, IA	Jeff Schaben	Earling, IA
Craig Elliott	Bedford, IA	Jerry Schaben	Defiance, IA
David Erwin	Crawfordsville, IA	Lester Schnabel	Sheffield, IA
Randy Euken	Lewis, IA	Beth Severson	Clarion, IA
FSC	Oakland, IA	Brian Sievers	Newell, IA
Joel Greene	Crawfordsville, IA	Layne Twinam	Crawfordsville, IA
Jerry Hammen	Fonda, IA	Wally Unkrich	Winfield, IA
Katie Holmes	Clarion, IA	Chad Van Regenmorter	Inwood, IA
Luke Homan	Remsen, IA	Pete Van Regenmorter	Inwood, IA
J & P Farms	Griswold, IA	Larry Warner	Larchwood, IA
Dennis Jipsen	Lewis, IA	Mark Warner	Larchwood, IA
Edwin Johnson	Clarion, IA	Westwood FFA	Mapleton, IA
Marty Knobloch	Larchwood, IA	Duane Winston	Atlantic, IA
Susan Massman	Elgin, IA	Ron Zelle	Waverly, IA
Morris Metzger	Larchwood, IA	Bruce Zomermaand	Sioux Center, IA
Dean Meyer	Rock Rapids, IA		
Dan Miller	Anita, IA		